Uhuru’s dream ticket

Uhuru Kenyatta’s trump card to decisively win in the first round the Presidential elections is set to be revealed in the coalition’s manifesto.

The election of a Jubilee government will crown Kenya’s Jubilee Year – the fiftieth year, the sabbath of sabbaths – by redressing the social inequities that have deepened since independence.

Give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread, otherwise I may have too much and disown you and say: Who is the Lord? Or I may become poor and steal, and so dishonour the name of my God. [Proverbs, 30:8]

According to the manifesto, all private land will be nationalized, and leased back to households allowing for a maximum holding based on need. No household shall hold more than one acre in urban areas. A minimum income will be upheld along with the provision of free public housing, education, health services and pensions. Public salaries – including those of the President and members of parliament – and private sector salaries shall not exceed the minimum income by more than a factor of 20, and all personal and company tax records shall be made public.

Kenyatta knows that this popular youth slate will lead to a landslide victory (and silence his critics like Maina Kiai and Makau Mutua, Kwendo Opanga and Philip Ochieng), and will honour the Mau Mau struggle for freedom and independence. He will also become overnight a pan-African leader, an advocate for just and sustainable development, the Man of the People.

Or not.

I’ll tip my hat to the new constitution
Take a bow for the new revolution
Smile and grin at the change all around me
Pick up my guitar and play
Just like yesterday
Then I’ll get on my knees and pray
We don’t get fooled again
Don’t get fooled again
No, no!

Meet the new boss
Same as the old boss

The Who – Won’t Get Fooled Again

Leave a Reply

